52 Books

I have accepted a challenge to read 52 books this year. (The picture books I read to students day in and day out don’t count!) 52 novels, biographies, nonfiction texts or memoirs. Ambitious? I think so given my schedule but I’m happy for the challenge.

Even in these first few weeks of the year, I’ve changed my reading habits. I have always read at bedtime but I find myself carving out more weekend time for reading: time I might choose to spend otherwise. I’ve also started bringing a book with me wherever I go. I read a few pages here and there while I’m waiting for appointments or a meeting to begin. In fact, the other day I was reading Hillbilly Elegy as I waited for the chiropractor. (When he walked in the treatment room he commented that I was the first one that day not on my phone.) I am also trying to keep two books on the go: books of different genres that I can choose between depending on mood.

I’m keeping track of my reading progress on Goodreads.com. Join me if you wish!

“I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book.” JK Rowling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *