A pig, a spider, a rat, some geese and some sheep…

  • “People believe almost anything they see in print.” p.89
  • “You have been my friend … That in itself is a tremendous thing.” p.164

Recognize these lines? They were spoken by Charlotte. Yes, Charlotte, the spider.

I reread Charlotte’s Web this weekend. I have been referring to it a lot with students because of Melissa Sweet’s wonderful biography of E.B. White. Since it’s been a few years, I thought I’d reread the novel. How is it that we learn about friendship and loyalty, promises and devotion, an appreciation for life and an acceptance of death, from a barn full of animals?

  • “By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone’s life can stand a little of that.” p. 164
  • “It was the best place to be, thought Wilbur, this warm delicious cellar, with the garrulous geese, the changing seasons, the heat of the sun, the passage of swallows, the nearness of rats, the sameness of sheep, the love of spiders, the smell of manure, and the glory of everything.” p. 183
  • “… he realized that friendship is one of the most satisfying things in the world.” p. 115

How very true.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *