The juxtaposition of life and death

We have a new baby in our family: he’s now two and a half weeks old. I held him in my arms and marvelled at the miracle of his life. Within an hour, I held the hands of my 94 year old grandmother in palliative care: she is within hours or days of the end of her life.

As I looked down at Carter, I imagined what his life will bring… I wondered what his little personality will be like… I anticipated the joy he will bring to our family.

As I held my grandmother, I felt gratitude for her immense impact on our lives… I felt fortunate for the privilege of knowing such a strong, positive, funny woman… I felt immense sadness knowing she will no longer be a physical presence in our lives.

Both a blessing, both helpless, on either ends of their lives.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *