A teary hug

This week I was reminded of why we do what we do. Though I wasn’t especially looking forward to some of the tasks that go along with ‘back to work’ (packing lunches, early mornings and paperwork), I was certainly looking forward to seeing the students. And they didn’t disappoint.

One moment this week was especially heartwarming. A student who had been assessed by an SLP and visibly exhausted, came to me just before recess. When I bent down to chat with him, he had tears in his eyes. He leaned in for an extended hug and rested his head on my shoulder. In that moment, he was too tired and overwhelmed for words but his body language said it all.

Why do we do what we do? “Children are our most valuable resource.” That’s why.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *