So Thankful

As I put up the Christmas tree, decorated the house and wrapped a few gifts, I couldn’t help but be thankful for the life I live.

On the news today, they showed pictures of Syria before and after. Before: the gorgeous architecture, rich history and hospitable people. After: violence and bloodshed, destruction and death.

Canada’s decision to accept Syrian refugees is not without controversy. Yet I remember the images of thousands of refugees leaving their homes and their country, seeking safety. I remember the images of homes destroyed, streets in rubble. I remember the image of three-year-old Aylan Kurdi, his lifeless body washed ashore.

I simply cannot imagine the experiences or emotions the Syrians are facing. The Syrian people are not the perpetrators of war, they are the victims of circumstance. I will do my part to welcome them, however small. As I look at my Christmas tree and the presents beneath, I know it’s the least I can do.

Visit Welcoming Syrian Refugees if you want to join my efforts.

1 thought on “So Thankful

  1. Jean

    Your piece about the plight of the Syrian refuges reminds me of the essence of Christianity: “do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” This wisdom makes the issue clearer for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *