“How are you?”

“How are you?” I’ve noticed this greeting a lot lately from store clerks or casual acquaintances. We say this to be polite but I doubt that most of us really want an honest answer from a stranger. It wouldn’t be appropriate to get into our health problems, family dynamics or financial stresses, for instance.

But truly, most days, I really am ‘good’. I have the right to vote and write a blog. I don’t have to worry about suicide bombers or tsunamis. I am surrounded by family and friends. If I need to visit my doctor, I make an appointment. I have a warm bed to sleep in and plenty of food to eat. Each day when I greet the buses at work, I get countless hugs.

Really, I am good, no matter who asks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *